The Franciscans
of Our Lady
Of the Holy Family

7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit

From Garrigou-Lagrange, O.P.'s The Three Ages of the Spiritual Life 

Part I, article IV, "The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit"

The relationship between the gifts of the Holy Spirit and the beatitudes, based on St. Thomas Aquinas's doctrine:

Gift of Wisdom → Peacemakers (IIa IIae, q.45, a.6): "it gives peace and allows the soul possessing it to give it to others, at times even to the most troubled"

Gift of Understanding → Clean of Heart (q.8, a.7): "those who possess this cleanness of heart begin here on earth, in a certain way, to see God in all that happens to us"

Gift of Knowledge → Mourners (q.9, a.4): "shows us the gravity of sin" (which is the turning to creatures instead of God)

Gift of Council → The Merciful (q.52, a.4): "inclines the soul to mercy"

Gift of Piety → The Meek (q.121, a.2): "makes us see in men not rivals, but children of God and our brothers"

Gift of Fortitude → Those Hungering & Thirsting for Justice (q.139, a.2): they "never become discouraged"

Gift of Fear → The Poor in Spirit (q.19, a.12): "they possess the holy fear of the Lord, which is the beginning of wisdom"